Very cosy converted farmhouse in Pisan Hills

My house is in an idyllic location in the Pisan hills next to a running stream and waterfall. Ideal for a couple but there is a single pull out bed in the small bedroom which my 19 yr old son says is very comfortable and a double roll up futon which he says is even better. The building was previously a farmhouse and renovated into 2 houses about 15 years ago. There is nothing regular about it which is why I bought it - the walls aren't all straight, there are angles, corners and curves and arched and beamed ceilings.

Downstairs: living room, sitting room, bathroom with shower, kitchen
Upstairs: main bedroom, small bedroom, study/guest room
Toilet and washbasin half way up stairs

The small garden is perfect for outdoor relaxing/dining with a gazebo giving perfect cover. Being up in the hills it is cooler in the summer and there are much fewer/if any mosquitoes. Winter can be cold in Italy too but it is a cosy house with a (soon to be fitted) wood burner and central heating.

I have recently moved to this house, embarking on a new stage in my life. I have experience of house exchanges and know what it means to look after and respect somebody else's house.

About the location

I`ve selected rural but the house is located in a very small village, Castelmaggiore, in the Pisan hills. It isn't remote but it is away from the noise and busyness of Pisa which is why I moved here. Pisa airport is 20 minutes away, the centre of Pisa 15. The nearest town, Calci, for shops and restaurants is 5 minutes away and can be reached on foot if you like a good uphill (on the way back) walk. Calci has everything you need - all essential food shops, bar-pastisserie, pizzerias, restaurants, bank, street market on Wednesdays.

Castelmaggiore has a local food shop for essentials and you can walk to a micro brewery which makes excellent beer. If you want to walk/explore the hills, try the many trattorias, visit Pisa and Lucca and also be at the sea in less than 40 minutes you won't fault the location.

You can park outside the house to unload - and the neighbours are all super friendly about leaving a car a bit longer - and then move it to one of 2 parking areas, one 20 metres from the house and where I nearly always find a space.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Long Term Exchange
  • Housesitting Offered

Conditions of exchange

  • No pets allowed

Castelmaggiore (HE40327)

Pisa,   Italy

  • 2 bed   (sleeps 3) 1 bath

Preferred destinations

  • England
  • London
  • Open to offers
I'm looking to exchange for 2-4 weeks but will consider longer. Preferably London.

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 2 - 3 weeks

Meet the member

Adults: 1     
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 29 Jan 2022