Lovely 3 Bed home in Wigmore, England

We are in the Northwest corner of Herefordshire, a few miles from the Welsh (Wales) border. This is an extremely rural county with beautiful rolling hills, woodlands, quiet country lanes and fields. Our house is on the edge of a small village called Wigmore, with fields and woodland to the rear, a small estate (50 houses) to the front, with wooded hills beyond that. The village has a small shop for essentials, 2 pubs/restaurants which serve food, a community centre, a village hall, a ruined castle and a church or two.
Nearby there are numerous historic towns and the city of Hereford to visit. There are numerous activities for the more active, such as golfing, horse riding, walking trails, go-karts, quad bike riding, rope walks and canoeing.

The house itself is less than 2 years old and is a small but comfy house with very efficient insulation and double glazing throughout. There is off-road parking and a small easily managed garden to the rear.

The house was built to be disabled accessible with wider doorways etc. and has been further adapted with a wet-room upstairs, a stairlift to enable access to upstairs and a bidet/toilet downstairs.
The house comprises a kitchen cum diner, downstairs W.C. and a lounge. Upstairs there is a full wetroom (power shower, toilet and basin), a double bedroom with Kingsize bed which has a Tempura memory foam topper on it. The second bedroom has a single bed with a memory foam topper. The third bedroom is a study with a high sleeper (memory foam mattress), which is NOT suitable for those with any mobility problems.
Also available, washing machine, tumble drier, computer, wireless internet and wired internet. TV, connected to the internet for downloads, with freesat channels. Lots of DVD's (though the more adult/horror ones would need moving if small children are coming). There used to be hundreds of books, but we have all got electronic books now, so we can no longer offer our old book shelves, weighed down with years of reading matter.

The photographs show the view from the front of the house (picture with a rainbow). The view from the rear upstairs window, showing the farmer bottle feeding one of his lambs (the quality is poor because it was a snap shot, taken in a hurry). The garden from the end looking towards the house. Lastly the dining room.

We do have two cats who will be put in the cattery, unless you wish to care for them. But there will still be an allergen problem if you suffer in such a way.

We are non-smokers ourselves and would require any smokers who wish to swap with us to ensure that they only smoked outside.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Housesitting Offered
  • Open to Offers

Conditions of exchange

  • No pets allowed
  • Children welcome

Wigmore (HE18709)

Herefordshire,   England

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 4) 1.5 bath

Preferred destinations

  • London NOT Olympics. Open
  • Europe
  • USA
  • Australia
  • Asia

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: Open to offers


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 1

Membership expiry date: 14 Oct 2012