Lovely 3 Bed home in EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND

We would like to exchange our modern, well-equipped house situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in a very accessible suburb in the southern outskirts of the capital city of Scotland.

We have no car to offer in exchange as we find the excellent bus service more than suffices. There are no fewer than 8 different routes within a five minutes level walk from the house. Hire cars and taxis are also available. There is very adequate parking should you have 1 or more cars.

There is easy approach by car or bus to the City Centre with its varied attractions - too many to list - and there is easy access to the Ring Road which connects to the rest of the country. The International Airport is about twenty minutes away by car or taxi and the Main Railway Station, Waverley, is about two miles from the house.

Edinburgh offers a great number of golf links to suit all levels of ability and the largest dry-ski slope in Europe is a few minutes drive away and there are many lovely walks in the neighbourhood. There is an excellent Tennis Centre nearby at Craiglockart, and riding facilities can be found about a mile away.

The local shopping plaza, five minutes level walking away, has a useful convenience store, a chemist, a newsagent, a bakery, a post office and an excellent library which offers a wide range of reference books and access to a PC

The house has three bedrooms; the main bedroom is fitted with twin 3 ft adjustable beds and has an en-suite shower room; one of the other rooms has a double bed whilst the third room has a single bed. There is a family bathroom complete with bath and shower.

The study, formerly a bedroom, has a range of books, a Mac Computer with scanner and printer, a separate fax and copier. There is also a comprehensive and eclectic selection of cds. as well as a number of games and jigsaws.

The sitting room has two leather sofas and a reclining chair and is equipped with television, VCR, DVD and a stereo deck. The separate dining room overlooks the garden and gives access to the well-fitted kitchen which has a double oven, a large microwave and an electric steamer. There is a dishwasher and a coffee machine.The washing machine, tumbler dryer, fridge and freezer and cleaning appliances are in a former garage reached by an internal door. This room also serves as a storage area and cloakroom.

As we are now both retired we prefer to exchange with other retired couples and have a strong preference for travelling during school terms. We are both non-smokers. We have no pets but have no objections to looking after friends. We are accustomed to watering plants although we have no indoor plants but we would appreciate it if our visitors were happy to water our garden in the unlikely event of a drought.

We rather like to meet our fellow exchangers at the beginning of the holiday so that we can make them welcome or at the end when we can exchange views. We have now exchanged about 22 times and we keep in touch with many of the friends we have made over the years.

One of our sons, David, lives in Edinburgh and will be available to help if required and all our neighbours are friendly and helpful.

We are both graduates; Bill, a former Naval Officer has a degree in English, whilst Rosemary has degrees in Geography and Psychology. We have three sons all in their thirties who no longer stay at home.

We both enjoy life and our hobbies include travel, reading, painting, walking, pottering about and visiting art-galleries and museums rather than mixing in busy crowds. We are members of our local Presbyterian church where Rosemary enjoys singing in the Choir and Bill belongs to a Conservation Group which looks after the interests of the Edinburgh scene.

Type of swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Rental Offered
  • Housesitting Offered

Conditions of exchange

  • Non smokers only


Lothian,   SCOTLAND

  • 3 bed   (sleeps 4) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Open to offers

Dates available

Open to offers

Swap duration: 2 - 3 weeks


Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 0
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 26 Oct 2007