Lovely London family home - perfect for exploring London and beyond home swap

The property is a lovely 5-bedroom Edwardian house built in 1911.

It still has original features, such as the tiling in the hallway and some fireplaces, as well as the distinctive exterior with the balcony.

We have all modern facilities including high-quality fibre internet, central heating, security alarm, modern bathrooms, televisions and a well-equipped kitchen.

We have a small but pleasant garden - with newly-laid artificial lawn to enable enjoyment year-round, and there is an all-weather outdoor table-tennis table for fun days in the garden.

The house was originally a 3-bedroom property but in 2011 we added a loft conversion adding 2 new bedrooms and a new bathroom.

At present there are 4 rooms used as bedrooms and one as an office, which can also be used as a 5th bedroom if need be. One bedroom (in the attic) has a double bed and a day-bed which can be used e.g. for a second or even third child using that room.

About the location

We are one minute's walk away from an absolutely huge park with playgrounds for kids, tennis courts, cafes, sculptures, walled garden, lots of walks and runs.

We are 15 minutes by metro / tube train from the West End (central shopping / sightseeing zone).

Our nearest tube station is Dollis Hill on the Jubilee line, a two minute walk away. There is also a new Portuguese restaurant at the end of our road, ideal for a family lunch and with seating outside for a cool drink or beer in the summer.

Please note: we have three cats - and so cat-friendly people are particularly welcome. The cats are very friendly and no trouble at all - they can come and go using the cat flap so just need food and water and a little company. Children who have visited as part of house swaps have found the cats to be a highlight of their holiday!

We have lived here happily for 20 years now. It's a nice family-oriented neighbourhood and a good base from which to explore central London.

Very handily, for everyday needs, there are a few shops just at the end of the road most of which are open 7 days a week - for fresh fruit and vegetables, for newspapers, including foreign editions, a chemist, a Portuguese restaurant, fish-and-chip shop, and an off-licence.

If you do bring your car we also have a friendly repair garage at the bottom of the road should you need any assistance of this sort. We are situated outside 'the congestion charge zone so there is no cost to bring your car to our house and we have parking permits you can use to park right outside our house.

By tube you can be in theatre or shopping land very quickly and easily and there is no need to have a car here at all unless you want to. The transport connections are excellent.

We are 10mins by car from the Brent Cross shopping centre and 15mins from the new enormous Westfield shopping centre by the BBC which offers fantastic shopping and dining opportunities.

We are 10mins from the bottom of the M1 motorway, ideal for those wanting to head north, or just get to attractions like the Harry Potter Tour, or Whipsnade Safari Park

We are very close to the North Circular Road so you can easily access the M25 to get round London if you don't want to drive through the centre of town, and you can easily access the M4 (to get to the West and Wales), M3 (if heading to Portsmouth) and other motorways too, such as the M40 (to get to Oxford).

We are two tube stops away from Wembley Stadium and Wembley Arena, so if you go to any events or concerts here, you can be there in minutes. There is also a new retail and leisure centre there too with shops, bars and restaurants. Particularly good are the discounted Nike, and Adidas shops, with usually 50% running shoes and clothing.

Nearest airports are Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton. Stansted also within range too as are Southend and City if you wish to use these airports.

Type of home swap

  • Home Exchange
  • Non Simultaneous Exchange
  • Housesitting Wanted
  • Open to Offers
  • Hospitality Exchange
  • Housesitting Offered
  • Weekend Exchange
  • Rental Offered

Conditions of home exchange

  • Non smokers only
  • Children welcome
  • Pet Care Offered
  • Pet Care required

London (HE28518)

London,   England

  • 5 bed   (sleeps 7) 2 bath

Preferred destinations

  • Europe
Update: Aug 2020 - looking for UK break in late August. Possibly further afield subject to travel restrictions.

Dates available

August 2020 - September 2020

Swap duration: 1 - 2 weeks

Meet the member

Adults: 2      Children: 3
Experienced Exchanger

Membership expiry date: 03 Aug 2021